The Meyboom (= a tree)

Symbol of young awaking live and growth must be planted traditionally on 9 August, the eve of St. Lawrence and this before 17:00. The festival is based upon a seven centuries old tradition, supported by several legends and reminds to a victory of Brussels on Leuven or according to others to a ceremony where a nobleman from Leuven married a little girl from the Bass Fond district in Brussels. He gave money to celebrate St. Lawrence day and to plant a Meyboom. The legend which is presented both in Brussels and in Leuven, sounds however differently. On a day in 1213 a honeymoon took place in an inn in Brussels. During the celebration the invitees noticed a gang of troublemakers from Leuven.

 

It came to a fight and the men from Brussels threatened to be defeated by the men from Leuven till they were suddenly assisted by the companions of St. Lawrence. The men of Leuven lost and John II, duke of Brabant, gave the companions the admission to plant the Meyboom annually on 9 August. This privilege would expire if the men from Leuven could make themselves master of the tree and plant it in Leuven before 17:00. Although the legend is situated in 1213, only in 1308 this became an annual recurring event. In 2011 there will be the 703th planting of the Meyboom; the 38th in Leuven since 1974. This means that Brussels up till present has had only 665 official plantings as since 1974 Brussels has lost their privilege to plant the Meyboom.

 

The men of 1929 decided in 1974 to take away this privilege from Brussels and to bring the only real Meyboom to Leuven. Disguised as journalists they found out which tree had been selected by the men of Brussels for the planting. At night they went to Brussels and chopped the tree and took it with them to Leuven. On the stump they left a note: 'Men of Brussels here your tree has stood, the men of Leuven went along with it '. On 9 August 1974 the Meyboom was planted before 17:00 on the Grand Market in Leuven. The inhabitants of Brussels didn't bother much of this incident and selected another tree and continued with the planting of their tree. Both cities claim now that they have the privilege to plant the 'real' Meyboom.

 

The type of tree has no importance for Brussels; in Leuven they choose the silver birch because it remains longer green. The tree is already taken away in Brussels the next day; in Leuven it stays there however up till after the second Sunday of the month of September, the jubilee day of the 'Vriendenkringen Mannen van het Jaar'  and "Het Verbond der Jaartallen". In Leuven the 'Vriendenkringen Mannen van het Jaar'  continue the tradition, more  specifically within block 9. After the year 1929, the years 1939 and 1949 followed. In 2010, the torch was taken over by the men of 1969, the men from block 9 and the Leuvense Meyboom companions: they are the current LEUVENSE MEYBOOMPLANTERS. They plant the Meyboom in 2017, for the 8th time.

 

Stad Leuven KIA Gilcon iFixers CPT Stella Artois 1366

Webmeester: BarStel • Zetel: CafĂ© Sport - Martelarenplein 13 - 3000 Leuven • Ons contacteren

Le Meyboom (= un arbre)

Le symbole du renouveau doit être planté traditionnellement le 9 août, la veille de Saint Laurent et ceci avant 17h00. Le festival est basé sur une tradition datant de sept siècles, renforcée par plusieurs légendes et rappelle une victoire de Bruxelles sur Louvain. Selon d'autres, il s'agit du mariage d'un noble de Louvain avec une petite fille du quartier des Bas-Fonds de Bruxelles. Il avait offert une somme d'argent pour célébrer le jour de la Saint Laurent et planter un Meyboom. La légende qui est présentée à Bruxelles et à Louvain, serait cependant différente. Un jour de 1213, un mariage eu lieu dans une auberge à Bruxelles.

 

Pendant la célébration, les invités remarquèrent une troupe de provocateurs de Louvain. Un combat eu lieu et les Bruxellois furent menacés par les Louvanistes. Quand soudain, arrivèrent les compagnons de Saint Laurent qui les sauvèrent. Les Louvanistes perdirent et Jean II, duc du Brabant, donna aux compagnons la permission de planter le Meyboom le 9 août de chaque année. Ce privilège expirerait si les Louvanistes pouvaient s'approprier l'arbre et le planter dans leur ville avant 17h00. Bien que la légende soit située en 1213, c'est seulement en 1308 que cet événement devint annuel. En 2011 le 703ème Meyboom sera planté; le trente-huitième dans Louvain depuis 1974.

 

Jusqu'aujourd'hui, Bruxelles a planté officiellement 665 Meyboom parce qu'en 1974, les Louvanistes, nés en 1929, décidèrent d'emporter ce privilège dans leur ville et décrétèrent que cet arbre serait le seul et authentique Meyboom. Cette année-là les Louvanistes déguisés en journalistes découvrirent que l'arbre à planter avait été choisi par des Bruxellois. La nuit, ils allèrent à Bruxelles, coupèrent l'arbre et l'emportèrent à Louvain. Sur le tronc ils laissèrent une note : 'Bruxellois votre arbre a été volé, les Louvanistes l'ont emporté'. Le 9 août 1974 le Meyboom a été planté avant 17h00 sur le Grand Marché de Louvain. Les Bruxellois n'ont pas été tracassés par cet incident. Ils ont choisi un autre arbre et l'ont planté.

 

Les deux villes à présent prétendent avoir le privilège de planter l'authentique Meyboom. Le type d'arbre n'a aucune importance pour Bruxelles; à Louvain ils choisissent le bouleau argenté parce qu'il reste plus longtemps en feuilles. A Bruxelles, l'arbre est déjà retiré le jour suivant; à Louvain il subsiste jusqu'au deuxième dimanche du mois de septembre, le jour du jubilé du 'Vriendenkringen Mannen van het Jaar'. Dans Louvain, les 'Vriendenkringen Mannen van het Jaar' continuent la tradition, en particulier, les hommes nés les années terminant par le chiffre 9. Après 1929, les Louvanistes nés en 1939, 1949 et 1959 continuèrent la tradition. En 2010, les Louvanistes nés en 1969 prirent le relai et ceux nés dans les années finissant par le chiffre 9; s'ajoutèrent aussi les compagnons de 'Leuvense Meyboom'. En 2017, notre groupe, les 'LEUVENSE MEYBOOMPLANTERS', va planter le Meyboom pour la 8ième fois.

 

Stad Leuven KIA Gilcon iFixers CPT Stella Artois 1366

Webmeester: BarStel • Zetel: Café Sport - Martelarenplein 13 - 3000 Leuven • Ons contacteren